23 May 2017


The LMA members voted Chelsea Manager, Antonio Conte as the LMA Manager of the Year sponsored by Everest, for the 2016/17 season at the 25th LMA Annual Awards Dinner.

Antonio was presented the newly commissioned Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy by Sir Alex, England Manager and LMA President Gareth Southgate and Everest Board Member Tony Parsell.

On collecting his award Antonio said: "I think I’ve had a lot of incredible emotions in my first season here in England. I want to say thank you to all the people who voted for me. It’s great to receive this award. I hope to deserve this [sic].

“It’s fantastic to read all the names that won this trophy and to stay with these managers is a great achievement for me. I hope to continue in the best way.”

The full list of LMA Annual Awards Winners 2016/17 is as follows:

LMA Manager of the Year sponsored by Everest - Antonio Conte - Chelsea

LMA Service to Football Award - Tony Collins

LMA Special Achievement Award sponsored by Prostate Cancer UK - Chris Wilder - Sheffield United

LMA Special Achievement Award Prostate Cancer UK - Danny Cowley - Lincoln City

Premier League Manager of the Year sponsored by Barclays - Antonio Conte - Chelsea

Sky Bet Championship Manager of the Year - Chris Hughton - Brighton & Hove Albion

Sky Bet League One Manager of the Year - Chris Wilder - Sheffield United

Sky Bet League Two Manager of the Year - Paul Cook - Portsmouth

LMA Chairman, Howard Wilkinson, said: “This evening’s silver celebration LMA Annual Awards Dinner allowed us to reflect on the first 25 years of our association.
“The evening also saw us present the new Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy for the LMA Manager of the Year sponsored by Everest for the first time. This magnificent trophy which was hand-crafted by Thomas Lyte, appointed Goldsmiths and Silversmiths to Her Majesty The Queen, recognises all previous winners of the Manager of the Year award stretching as far back as Sir Matt Busby in 1968, who have received the award at the recommendation of their fellow managers.
“To be honoured by your peers for not merely the achievement itself but also the manner of the achievement cannot be bettered, and this year we have welcomed a new name to the list of top professionals who have won this prestigious accolade.

“For Antonio, to win the Premier League and reach the final of the FA Cup in his first season in England adds further lustre to the praise for a job well done. We are delighted he was able to join us this evening to collect his award and receive the credit from his peers he rightly deserves.”

LMA Chief Executive, Richard Bevan, said: “The LMA congratulates the six managers who received awards at the LMA Annual Awards Dinner.

“Following years of dedication to the profession of coaching, Danny Cowley, Paul Cook, Chris Wilder and Chris Hughton have been instrumental in the successful promotions of their respective clubs this season and fully deserve the recognition from their fellow managers. We wish them all the very best of luck as they prepare for next season in their new leagues.
“It was our privilege to honour Tony Collins’ contribution to the game. As the first BAME manager in English football, Tony was able to break down barriers in the 1960s. The game must continue to address the issues facing BAME managers and coaches so more can follow in Tony’s footsteps.
“And of course, it was a special moment to present the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy to its first recipient, as we crowned Antonio Conte as the LMA Manager of the Year sponsored by Everest for 2016/17.
“Antonio has excelled since joining the Premier League last summer. His tactical expertise, professionalism and desire to win has led to his Chelsea team achieving the greatest number of wins in a Premier League season. He is a truly deserving champion in every sense of the word."