We will try to get every single manager under the LMA spotlight – so if you have a question you’d like answered whether it be for Arsene Wenger or Jimmy Quinn let us know and we’ll do our best.

Your Name
Your E-mail

15 May 2002

See who was honoured this year at the LMA's Annual Dinner with a brief rundown of this year's prestigious managerial award winners.

Held once again at the Royal Moat House in Nottingham, the LMA's Annual Dinner proved to be a tremendous evening, enjoyed by all the managers and specially invited guests present.

Guest of honour on the evening was Minister for Sport Richard Caborn, who presented the Nationwide League Divisional Manager of the Year awards.

In Division Three, Paul Sturrock was voted as the top manager after taking Plymouth to the title. He was unable to attend the presentation but his award was gratefully receieved by his assistant manager Kevin Somerfield.

Peter Taylor was delighted to be named as Division Two's Manager of the Year after guiding Brighton and Hove Alibon to the championship whilst Gary Megson proved an extremely popular choice in Division One having worked wonders at West Bromwich Albion to take the Midlands club into the top flight on a shoestring budget.

The main award of the evening was for the LMA Manager of the Year, which was voted for by all the managers in every division. Along with the honour of being named Barclaycard Premiership Manager of the Year, chosen by a Barclaycard panel, the top award went to Arsene Wenger - completing another double for the Gunners boss.

He was at Highbury on the evening, where Tony Adams had played his testamonial, but received his latest trophies from Arsenal's vice-chairman David Dein and spoke to the guests in Nottingham via a satellite link.

The final award of the night was presented by Barclaycard Chief Executive Gary Hoffman, and was the inaugural Barclaycard Merit award, which went to Newcastle United boss Bobby Robson.

The 69-year old was also unable to attend due to a long-standing prior engagement, but his award was accepted on his behalf by his Sir Alex Ferguson, who joked that he was happy to collect a trophy for the first time this season.

T: 01283 576350 F: 01283 576351 E: © League Managers Association 2014
Website Design & Development by Digital Marmalade Ltd