top choice
Receive a copy of 'View from the Top' direct to your inbox. Whenever the LMA issue a statement on the game, you'll be the very first to receive it.



We would like to keep you informed about the LMA by email in the future, but we need your permission to do this. Your feedback is really valuable so please tell us how you'd like to hear from us.

Tell me about new promotions, products and services from the LMA.
Tell me about new promotions, products and services from carefully selected 3rd Parties.

You can change your subscription status by hitting the unsubscribe link at the bottom of each edition.
13 May 2003

Everton boss David Moyes has been named Manager of the Year by the League Managers Association.

The former Preston North End chief was the clear winner in the annual vote of his Barclaycard Premiership peers in the wake of the amazing impact he has made since arriving at Goodison Park.

The 39-year-old Scot steered Everton to seventh place in the Premiership in his first full season in the top flight.

The Toffees just missed out on Uefa Cup qualification, though seventh place still marked an improvement of eight Premiership positions.

Moyes, who took over from Walter Smith in March 2002, admitted he did not expect the award because he was frustrated at Everton's failure to qualify for Europe.

"I'm delighted and surprised to win the award," he said.

"The disappointment we have suffered is immeasurable.

"Football is about taking opportunities when they come and we had a great opportunity this season.

"But when things die down, then hopefully we will realise what a good season it has been."

Sir Alex Ferguson was honoured with an award for Premiership manager of the decade and he also took the Barclaycard Premiership manager of the year award following his side's title-winning season.

The First Division manager of the year award was won by Harry Redknapp, who guided Portsmouth to the title in his first full season at Fratton Park.

Wigan's Paul Jewell won the Division 2 award after Wigan secured 100 points and lost just four games on their way to the championship.

And the Third Division award went to Wrexham's Denis Smith, whose side won their final eight games of the campaign to secure automatic promotion.

David Moyes

T: 01283 576350 F: 01283 576351 E: League Managers Association 2014
Website Design & Development by Digital Marmalade Ltd