May 30, 2023

Pep Guardiola Wins LMA Manager of the Year

The League Managers Association is delighted to announce that its members have voted Pep Guardiola (Manchester City) as this year’s recipient of the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy for the LMA Manager of the Year.

The award, voted for by the full LMA membership, was announced at the 31st LMA Annual Awards Dinner by LMA President Gareth Southgate OBE and LMA Executive Committee member Sir Alex Ferguson CBE. The five other managers who received the most votes to be in contention for this award were, in alphabetical order, Mikel Arteta (Arsenal), Roberto De Zerbi (Brighton & Hove Albion), Eddie Howe (Newcastle United), Vincent Kompany (Burnley), and Steven Schumacher (Plymouth Argyle).

Recently promoted managers Vincent Kompany (Burnley - Sky Bet Championship), Steven Schumacher (Plymouth Argyle - Sky Bet League One), Richie Wellens (Leyton Orient - Sky Bet League Two) and Lauren Smith (Bristol City - Barclays Women's Championship) were also voted for by their peers as Manager of the Year in their respective leagues.

Pep Guardiola (Manchester City) also won the Premier League Manager of the Year, sponsored by Barclays, following a panel and public vote.

Emma Hayes OBE (Chelsea) won the Barclays Women's Super League Manager of the Year, following a voting process involving WSL Managers, an esteemed Barclays panel of respected individuals within women's football and a public vote.

Lou Macari was presented with the inaugural LMA John Duncan Award, named after John, who sadly left us in October last year. The John Duncan Award will be presented every year to an individual, selected by the LMA board, who has either achieved something significant in the game or represents the values of passion and service to football that personified John himself.

On being presented with the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy for the LMA Manager of the Year, Pep Guardiola said: "It’s such an honour for me to be voted as the LMA Manager of the Year and one which I share with my players, my coaches and everyone at Manchester City".

"It’s a really special award for me because it is voted for by LMA managers who understand from their experiences what our job involves.

"The LMA are so important and make the members feel protected. They look after us all, which is especially important for the managers in the lower leagues of the men’s and women’s game.

"I thank the LMA so much for all the work that they have already done and undoubtedly for the work to come. I will always be available to support the work of the LMA.

LMA Chairman Howard Wilkinson said: "Many congratulations to Pep Guardiola on winning the LMA Manager of the Year Award for a third time.

"To have competed throughout this unprecedented season to win the Premier League title and to be on the verge of a historic treble demonstrates his ability to galvanise his entire squad. I know his leadership qualities and football philosophy permeates throughout the club from first-team to academy.

"Pep's peers have recognised Manchester City's multi-competition challenge and the quality of football he and his coaching staff have cultivated, by honouring him with this award."

LMA Executive Committee member Sir Alex Ferguson CBE added: “Well done to Pep on winning his third LMA Manager of the Year award, matching the records of Don Revie, Sir Kenny Dalglish and David Moyes, in earning the respect of his peers.

“It takes a huge amount of energy and intensity to win year after year, ensuring your players and staff maintain their exceptionally high standards. What Pep has done over the past seven years has been remarkable and he rightly deserves the praise of his fellow managers this evening.

“As a fellow LMA Executive Committee member, we continue to be grateful to Pep for his support of the association and the engagement he offers to the LMA.”

LMA Chief Executive Richard Bevan OBE added: "The LMA was pleased to come together with its members, partners and stakeholders to celebrate the excellent seasons of its members throughout professional men's and women's football.

"LMA members recognised Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola as the winner of the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy for the LMA Manager of the Year award for a third time in six years. Pep's vision and humility throughout this successful season is an example to us all and his peers continue to hold him in high esteem.

"Our members also recognised the achievements of Emma Hayes OBE, Lauren Smith, Vincent Kompany, Steven Schumacher and Richie Wellens, who all successfully led their teams to league titles and contributed to an extremely entertaining season for us all to follow.

"It was a privilege to award the inaugural LMA John Duncan award to LMA member Lou Macari, whose incredible work through the Macari Foundation, is continuing to help end homelessness in Stoke-on-Trent. He has positively impacted the lives of so many people and is a very worthy winner, of whom John would have been especially proud.

"Finally, I wish to thank our awards partners Premier League, Sky Sports, Castrol, Nike, Utilita, Molson Coors, Barclays, Sky Bet, and Mappin & Webb, who have supplied the special trophies for our managers to treasure."

The full list of LMA Annual Awards Winners for 2022/23 is as follows:

The Sir Alex Ferguson trophy for the LMA Manager of the Year: Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)

LMA John Duncan Award: Lou Macari

Premier League Manager of the Year sponsored by Barclays: Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)

Barclays Women's Super League Manager of the Year: Emma Hayes OBE (Chelsea)

Barclays Women's Championship Manager of the Year: Lauren Smith (Bristol City)

Sky Bet Championship Manager of the Year: Vincent Kompany (Burnley)

Sky Bet League One Manager of the Year: Steven Schumacher (Plymouth Argyle)

Sky Bet League Two Manager of the Year: Richie Wellens (Leyton Orient)

Return to Home Page
More Articles